Hauora Tairawhiti's governing Board is made up of 11 members. Seven are elected at the three yearly local body elections and up to four are appointed by the Minister of Health.

The Minister also appoints the Chair and Deputy Chair from the members. Boards are required to have at least two Maori representatives and in general reflect the diversity of the people and interests within Tairawhiti.

There are three statutory advisory committees required under the New Zealand Public Health and Disabilities Act 2001, which provide advice to the Board.

They are the:

  • Community and Public Health Advisory Committee (CPHAC)
  • Aged and Disability Support Advisory Committee (ADSAC) and;
  • Hospital Advisory Committee (HAC)

Other committees established to provide advice to the Board are the:

  • Finance, Audit and IT Committee (FAIT) and Clinical Board.

Hauora Tairawhiti has a governance relationship with local iwi/Maori through Te Waiora o Nukutaimemeha (TWON). The purpose of this Maori health advisory committee is to provide guidance, direction on all aspects of Maori health within Tairawhiti.